50th Anniversary Issue Launch

On Thursday 23 November 2017, the Review launched its 50th Anniversary Issue. We were fortunate to have as our guest speaker Review alumnus and retired judge of the High Court, the Hon John Priestley QC. John Priestley was a particularly special guest because he was an Editor-in-Chief for the very first issue of the Review 50 years ago. We were also joined by numerous other special guests and AULR Alumni.


Professor Paul Rishworth QC (left) with the 50th Anniversary Issue opened at the article by James Rouse (right), which he originally supervised.

Chief Justice the Rt Hon Dame Sian Elias QC (Editor 1970) and former Attorney-General the Rt Hon Paul East QC (Business Manager 1970).

The Rt Hon Sir Edmund Thomas QC, Professor David V Williams, Peter Rowe (MinterEllisonRuddWatts), the Rt Hon Paul East QC, the Rt Hon Dame Sian Elias QC, the Hon John Priestley QC, the Hon Sir Noel Anderson QC, Donald McMorland, Gary Judd QC, Dr Kenneth Palmer, the Hon Tony Randerson QC, Jayden Houghton and Kayleigh Ansell.

Other Photos

2017 AULR Symposium

On Thursday 17 August 2017, the Review held its annual Symposium and Alumni Dinner. The theme of this year's Symposium was "Looking Back, Looking Forward: Reflections on 50 Years in the Law". The Symposium was delivered by Chief Justice of New Zealand, The Rt Hon Dame Sian Elias, QC, GNZM, and chaired by Professor Julia Tolmie of the University of Auckland Law School. Our Alumni Dinner speaker was Justice Mark Cooper QC of the New Zealand Court of Appeal.

The Symposium by Dame Sian and the Alumni Dinner speech are both featured in the 2017 issue of the Auckland University Law Review: Sian Elias "Looking Back, Looking Forward: Reflections on 50 Years in the Law" (2017) 23 Auckland U L Rev 14; and Mark Cooper "Auckland University Law Review 50th Anniversary Alumni Dinner Speech" (2017) 23 Auckland U L Rev 29.


Dame Sian Elias with Kayleigh Ansell and Jayden Houghton (Editors-in-Chief), as well as Professor Julia Tolmie (Symposium Chair), Justice Mark Cooper (Alumni Dinner Speaker) and Sir Ted Thomas; Professor Michael Littlewood and John Ip (Faculty Advisers); and the editors, business and advertising managers, and other notable Alumni.